Wonuola Alonge
3 min readSep 25, 2020

My Code TrackšŸ˜ (CODE TRACK PART 1)

Part 1šŸŒ¹

Hi Guys,

My name is Wonuola, and Iā€™m about to tell you about one of the most amazing things that ever happened to me. ā€œMy Coding Journey!!!!ā€ Iā€™m sure you guessed it.

I was not chosen.

I was stalking peopleā€™s WhatsApp status updates on a Friday evening when I came across a photo/flier about Africaā€™s code week boot camp. I thought to myself, ā€œThank God.ā€ Almost immediately, I was piqued. I wasnā€™t interested in learning to code since I needed to get out of the house, and this seemed like the best way to do so.

I applied right away after viewing, and the following week I went to boot camp, completely unaware that only a selected few were to attend the program.

When I arrived, I was surprised to see about 30 laptops in front of each attendee. Then it occurred to me that I would require a laptop; I internally laughed at my ignorance. So I asked the instructor how I was to continue without one. She chuckled and said Iā€™d be paired with someone until I got a laptop.

Thatā€™s when I realized Iā€™d started my coding career. I knew it was the start of something new, even though I didnā€™t know how long Iā€™d be in the game.

Fortunately, I was assigned to someone kind enough to let me use his laptop, put me through what I needed to know, and share code tutorial apps and links with me all day and the day after. (S(he) Hacks Africa collaborated with Africa Code Week. Itā€™s a hybrid of code boot camps for both boys and girls.)Remember, I didnā€™t start on the first day of the program because I had to prepare for it. (By prepared, I mean that I had to leave everything I was doing at home in good hands before leaving.) My first week was bliss!

Design Thinking

During the last weeks of my stay at the camp, we had a design thinking course. Our tutors ensured that we had the best form of mindset change to not only identify errors, but to seek out brilliant ways to solve them.

We were asked to come up with problems that our society faces and think of innovative ways to solve them with website development.

We visited many workshops, told them about our project, and asked if they would like to come on board with us if we launched. To our surprise, many workers showed a grave interest in our project.

My team chose automobile repairs, because each of us had had a very bad experience with one ā€œmechanicā€ or the other.

It was great!

We called the project ā€œE-Mechā€!

At the end of the program, our team had the second-best project in the cohort!

I was extremely glad!

Due to three main factors that welcomed me, I fell in love with coding right away: the people (my new friends, my team mates and the instructors) and the first programming language I learned, HTML. It appeared to be so straightforward, but I hadnā€™t even scratched the surface. After a while, I received my first HTML, CSS, and JavaScript certificate. Just when I thought everything was fine, I discovered that the real drama had yet to begin.

Join me on this trip as we discover more about my coding journey here on my code track!

Itā€™s going to be a lot of fun!